The Craighead Conservation Award

The Craighead Conservation Award, named for the legendary Craighead brothers, Frank and John, whose dedication to wildlife and conservation forever changed the American West, honors outstanding career achievements. It celebrates individuals who, through years of service in wildlife research, management, community involvement, or policy, have made positive and lasting change in conservation outcomes. The award is given in conjunction with the Jackson Hole Wildlife Symposium.

Past recipients include:

Steve Kilpatrick

Micheal Whitfield

Bruce Smith

Franz Camenzind

Susan Patla

Debra Patla

Would you like to nominate a conservation hero for the Craighead Conservation Award? Please email us at with your name and contact information, the name of the nominee, and a brief description of his or her achievements.